Wellington Railway Station war memorial

Memorial plaque

The Roll of Honour in the foyer of Wellington's Railway Station honours the 450 members of the New Zealand Railways Department who lost their lives serving during the First World War. More than 5000 of the Department's permanent staff enlisted during the war, out of a 1914 workforce of 14,000. The Department's war dead were also commemorated in the form of a moving memorial, the Passchendaele locomotive.

A plaque commemorates railways staff who died in the Second World War.


Mike Mellor, 2011.

How to cite this page: 'Wellington Railway Station war memorial', URL: http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/media/photo/wellington-railway-station-war-memorial, (Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated 17-Jul-2014

Community contributions

There are currently no community contributions for this page - please fill out the form to the right if you would like to add your story

What do you know?